top of page

Order the FULL SET for only £35 (Combined RRP £55.92).


A young woman delves into the circumstances of her mother’s death ahead of her own marriage, interrogating a woman who witnessed her mother’s death and would later come to play a crucial role in her life. An exploration of the human (in)capacity for (self-)deception and knowledge, the story offers a nuanced portrait of contemporary (Korean) social mores. As with all Cheon’s work to date this beautifully crafted story places women at its core, and explores form and genre (in this case epistolatory) while subtly weaving into the text a deep interrogation of social issues.


CHEON HEERAHN was born in Gyeonggido Seongnam, Korea in 1984. She was named 2015 Emerging Writer of the Year by the journal Contemporay Literature (Hyeondae Munhak) for her story ‘Pale Garden of No Shadows’. In 2017 Cheon won the 8th Munhakdongne Young Writer's Prize. The Origin of Nought was her first full collection.


EMILY YAE WON is a literary translator based in Seoul. Her translations include Hwang Jungeun’s I’ll Go On (Tilted Axis Press,2018) and Korean translations of Ali Smith, Djuna Barnes, Jenni Fagan, Joanna Walsh and Deborah Levy.

Five Preludes & a Fugue by Cheon Heerahn

SKU: 978-1-911343-58-5
  • 978-1-911343-58-5

bottom of page